Follow Us on Social Media

Parliamentary Committee rejects Penina Malonza’s nomination to Cabinet

National Assembly’s Committee on Appointments has rejected Peninah Malonza’s nomination by the President William Ruto as CS for Tourism and National Heritage.

Hon Penina Malonza. She has been rejected by the Committee on Appointments of the National Assembly. President Ruto had nominated her as CS for Tourism and National Heritage.

This is according to a report tabled by the Leader of Majority Kimani Ichungw’a. The committee has given a nod to all the rest of the other nominees.

Ms Malonza had pledged to restore Kenya’s reputation as one of the best tourism destinations in the world.

However, the National Assembly Committee on Appointments appeared to criticize her on her relationship with the then governor Kitui County. She told her committee that her remarks were taken out of context.

Malonza was the pioneer deputy governor of Kitui County serving under the then Governor Dr Julius Malombe who is currently the governor of the county serving his second and final term.

The committee said she had “made unpalatable remarks while addressing the public in Kitui County”.

In disqualifying her the committee said that Penina Malonza did not demonstrate knowledge of topical, administrative and technical issues concerning the Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage.

“Consequently, the nominee lacks requisite abilities and expertise to serve as the Cabinet Secretary for Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage”, said the report by the Committee on Appointments on page 109.  

 Separately, Kibwezi West MP Mwengi Mutuse said he will move an amendment to the motion to ensure Malonza’s name is included in the list of approved nominees.

Led by National Assembly Minority Leader Opiyo Wandayi, Azimio-One Kenya coalition members of the committee gave a dissenting opinion over two nominees who went on to be approved by the House.  The nominees were Aisha Jumwa and Mithika Linturi.

Other dissenting members were MPs Robert Mbui, Junet Mohammed, David Pkosing, Naisula Lesuuda, Mishi Mboko, Abdi Shurie and Caleb Amisi.

They accused Linturi of having questionable academic qualifications including the elusive Indian university degree which could not be traced.

The Opposition committee members also held the minority view that the attempted rape charges of January 30, 2021 “are so grave as to demean the office which Hon. Linturi has been nominated, notwithstanding a subsequent move to have them dropped”.

On Hon Aisha Jumwa, the dissenting opinion legislators shed light on her pending murder case.  The committee, notwithstanding, agreed that she should not be denied an opportunity to serve under the principle of presumption of innocence until one is proved guilty.

The dissenting members disagreed with the majority stating that they held a strong view that the principle of presumption of innocence until proved guilty should not apply in situations of appointment to a high public office such as that of a Cabinet Secretary.


No comments

Post a Comment

© all rights reserved
made with by Skitsoft