Follow Us on Social Media

Theuri trounces bigwigs in race to replace Havi at LSK

Lawyers across the country went into elections yesterday to pick their new team that will steer their professional body for the next two years.

Senior Counsel Kalonzo Musyoka takes part in LSK elections in Milimani polling station. Lawyer Eric Theuri was elected LSK President. Photo/COURTESY

But in an unexpected outcome, Nairobi-based lawyer Eric Theuri trounced big names to emerge as the winner in the post of the President of the Law Society of Kenya. He is now the 50th President of the society.

The elections that were characterized by a low voter turnout and marred with some nominations protests earlier in the day saw the learned friends replace the Nelson Havi-led leadership that has been characterized by controversy over management of the lobby’s funds.

Theuri who is the outgoing LSK’s Nairobi Chapter Chair beat outgoing LSK Vice President Carolyne Kamende Daudi a native of Makueni County and lawyer Samson Ombati who were seen as possible successors of Mr. Havi. The two were first and second runners up respectively. Theuri garnered 1,811 votes while Kamende and Ombati got 1,085 and 920 votes. Other contestants were Mathew Nyabena (745 votes) and Kipkoech Ng’etich (452 votes).

On being declared the winner by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), Theuri took to social media to thank his colleagues for overwhelmingly voting for him. “All glory to God! Thank you, colleagues. I congratulate my worthy opponents for a race well run and graciously conceding defeat. We forge forward,” he posted on Facebook.

Havi who had recently predicted his successor as either Ms Daudi or Mr Ombati was however quick to congratulate Theuri and pledged to support him. “Unlike my predecessor, I will let you work and support you should you require my counsel. May you succeed where I failed and improve on what I did,” said Havi.

Havi’s legacy

Nelson Havi’s reign at the LSK will be remembered for among other things fighting to successfully bring down the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) at the High Court and Court of Appeal. The case is still awaiting ruling at the Supreme Court after Attorney General Paul Kihara appealed the decision of the appellate court. 

Nairobi based lawyer Charles Mwalimu congratulated Mr Theuri on his election. “Congratulations my chair Eric Theuri for being elected new LSK President,” Mwalimu who is vying for the Mwingi North parliamentary seat on a UDA party ticket posted on Facebook. He is also an outgoing LSK Nairobi branch council member.

Thursday polls also saw the advocates vote for their LSK Vice President, Council Members and the Society’s Female Member to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

Among prominent lawyers who participated in the elections include Former Vice President and current Wiper Democratic Movement party leader Kalonzo Musyoka.

Notably LSK has been headed by lawyers from Ukambani among them former Chief Justice Dr. Willy Mutunga (1993-1995), celebrated Constitutional lawyer the late Nzamba Kitonga (1997-1999) and Eric Mutua who was the only President of the LSK to have served for two uninterrupted terms since LSK was formed in 1949. Mutua who comes from Mui in Mwingi East served as the 46th President of the powerful body between 2012 and 2016. He unsuccessfully vied for Mwingi Central parliamentary seat in 2017.  


No comments

Post a Comment

© all rights reserved
made with by Skitsoft