Follow Us on Social Media

KITUI among 9 counties in dire need of food aid

With 4.35 million Kenyans being affected by drought, Dr Julius Malombe-led Kitui County has been named together with other eight devolved units as being in immediate need of food security interventions.
Drought in an Arid and Semi Arid Land./FILE

The Ministry of East African Community, Arid and Semi Arid Lands and Regional Development has conducted a survey in partnership with the National Drought Management Authority (NDMA) to assess the food security in readiness of the March-April-May short rains season.

Other counties listed to be at Alarm stage are Kilifi, Kajiado,  Mandera, Marsabit, Wajir, Samburu, Isiolo and Turkana.

Isiolo county has witnessed high number of livestock mortality due to diminishing pastures.

 Other counties with deteriorating vegetation cover are Wajir, Garissa, Kwale, Mandera and Samburu.

Isiolo has also been cited as one of the counties battling child malnutrition. Others in that category are Mandera, Garissa and Isiolo.

Already, 13 counties have been grouped as being in high Alert stage of drought meaning they are approaching Alarm stage if interventions by relevant government agencies fall short.

Makueni, Tharaka Nithi, Meru are part of the counties in Alert stage of drought, according to East African Community, Arid and Semi Arid Lands and Regional Development CS Rebecca Miano.

Ten other counties in the Alert category are Garissa, Lamu, Narok, Tana River, Baringo, Laikipia, Taita Taveta, West Pokot, Kwale and Nyeri.

Traditionally, Arid and Semi Arid Lands (ASAL) have been the ones that were affected by drought. However, the narrative is changing given urban and counties in high altitude areas were cited as being affected by the drought.  They include Kiambu,Kirinyaga, Nakuru, Migori, Siaya and Homa Bay counties.


No comments

Post a Comment

© all rights reserved
made with by Skitsoft