Follow Us on Social Media

Assembly to Vet CEC Nominees

The County Assembly of Embu will vet Governor Cecily Mbarire’s nominees for the positions of County Executive Committee (CEC) Members and County Secretary on the 24th and 25th October 2022 in accordance with legal provisions.

Embu County Assembly Speaker Josiah Thiriku (left) and Governor Cecily Mbarire at County Assembly of Embu. The Assembly is set to vet Mbarire nominees which include CECs and County Secretary on October 24 and 25.

Article 179(2)(b) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010, Sections 35 and 44 of the County Governments Act, 2012 and Section 8 of the Public Appointments (County Assemblies approval) Act, Number 5 of 2017, require nominees to appear before the relevant Committees of the County Assembly for vetting and approval hearing.

In a communique to the Ward Representatives, Speaker Josiah Thiriku stated that the Governor had written to County Assembly Clerk Jim Kauma as per the County Governments Act Section 42(2) forwarding names of the nominees to the August House for vetting and subsequent approval.

Former Manyatta Parliamentarian Emilio Kathuri has been nominated as CEC Member in charge of the Administration, Public Service and ICT docket while former County Secretary Raymond Kinyua is the nominee for CEC Lands, Housing and Urban Planning.

Other nominees are Prof. Joe Kamaria – Finance and Economic Planning, Elijah Njeru Mugo – Roads, Transport and Public Works, John N. Nyaga – Agriculture, Livestock and Cooperatives Development, Florence Ndinda Musyoka – Water, Irrigation, Environment, Climate Change and Natural Resources.

Jamal Abdi Runyenje has been nominated as the CEC Member in charge of Trade, Tourism and Industry Development, Daniel N. Ngeranwa – Education, Francis Ndwiga Benson – Health, Jane Waroga – Youth, Gender, Sports, Culture and Social Services while Esther Thaara Mworia is the nominee for County Secretary.

Speaker Thiriku directed that the nominee for County Secretary be committed to the County Assembly Committee on Administration, Public Service and ICT which is chaired by Makima MCA Phillip Nzangi while the CEC Member nominees were committed to the Committee on Appointments which the Speaker chairs.


No comments

Post a Comment

© all rights reserved
made with by Skitsoft